Member Organization News



- Accenture recognized Covington & Burling LLP and Crowell & Moring LLP with its 2021 Outside Counsel Diversity Awards.
- A mostly female team at Davis Wright Tremaine LLP recently led the largest franchisee-to-franchisee deal in history, the result of deliberate decisions and training on the part of the firm.
- General Motors Company announced a plan to increase its spending with Blackowned media companies from 0.5% to 4% by next year, with a goal of 8% by 2025.
- Mastercard announced that it will tie executive compensation to progress toward gender parity, among other goals. The company also released a new credit card that incentivizes spending at women-owned businesses.
- **McDonald's Corporation** announced new standards for preventing harassment, discrimination, retaliation, and violence at its 39,000 restaurants worldwide.
- Porter Hedges LLP launched a Diversity Scholarship at Texas Southern University, one of the nation's largest historically black colleges and universities.
- Target Corporation announced that it will spend \$2 billion with Black-owned businesses by the end of 2025 and provide mentoring to Black entrepreneurs.
- The following LCLD Members and organizations made statements denouncing the recent violence and discrimination against members of the Asian American Pacific Islander community:
 - Katya Jestin and Randy Mehrberg, Co-Managing Partners, Jenner & Block LLP
 - Kim Koopersmith, Chairperson, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
 - Fred Nance, Global Managing Partner, Squire Patton Boggs
 - Richard Trobman, Chairman and Managing Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP
 - Crowell & Moring LLP
 - Morrison & Foerster LLP

- The following LCLD Member organizations were represented on a list of Black executives calling on corporate America to oppose laws that restrict the rights of Black voters:
 - The Carlyle Group
 - Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP
 - Google LLC
 - Merck & Co., Inc.
 - Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
 - Squire Patton Boggs
 - ViacomCBS Inc.
- The following 62 LCLD Members and Member organizations signed on to a statement denouncing voter disenfranchisement:
 - Joel Unruch, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Accenture
 - Scott A. Meyers, Chairman and CEO, Akerman
 - Kim Koopersmith, Chairperson, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld
 - Richard M. Alexander, Chairman, Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer
 - Mark S. Stewart, Chair, Ballard Spahr
 - David Boies, Chairman, Boies Schiller Flexner
 - Sandra Leung, Executive Vice President and General, Bristol Myers Squibb Company
 - Lisa Mayhew and Steven M. Baumer, Co-Chairs of Firm, Bryan Cave Leighton
 Paisner
 - Michael A. Gerstenzang, Managing Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
 - Joe Conroy, Chairman and CEO, Cooley
 - Douglas G. Gibson, Chair of Management Committee, Covington & Burling
 - Cozen O'Connor
 - Faiza J. Saeed, Presiding Partner, Cravath, Swaine & Moore
 - Crowell & Moring
 - Neil Barr, Managing Partner, Davis Polk & Wardwell
 - Scott W. MacCormack, Firmwide Managing Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine
 - Michael W. Blair, Presiding Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton,
 - Dechert
 - JoAnn Chávez, Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, DTE Energy
 - Tom Froehle and Andrew Kassner, Co-Chairs, Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath,
 - John C. Adkisson, President and CEO, Fish & Richardson
 - Mark L. Morris, Firmwide Managing Partner, Fox Rothschild
 - David J. Greenwald, Chairman, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson
 - Kenneth M. Doran, Chairman and Managing Partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
 - Robert S. Insolia, Chairman, Goodwin Procter
 - Steven Sonberg, Managing Partner, Holland & Knight
 - Katya Jestin and Randall E. Mehrberg, Co-Managing Partners, Jenner & Block
 - Katten Muchin Rosenman
 - Kirkland & Ellis

- Paul W. Theiss, Chairman, Mayer Brown
- Ira J. Coleman, Chairman, McDermott Will & Emery
- J. Tracy Walker IV, Managing Partner, McGuireWoods
- Scott A. Edelman, Chairman, Milbank
- Robert I. Bodian, Managing Partner, Mintz Levin
- Jami McKeon, Chair, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius
- Morrison & Foerster
- Stephen D. Zubiago, CEO and Managing Partner, Nixon Peabody
- Jeff Cody, Managing Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright US
- Bradley J. Butwin, Chairman, O'Melveny & Myers
- Mitchell Zuklie, Chairman and CEO, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
- Paul Hastings
- Brad S. Karp, Chairman, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
- William G. Malley, Firmwide Managing Partner, Perkins Coie
- Steven M. Ellis, Chairman, Proskauer Rose
- Ann Kappler, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Prudential Financial
- Ropes & Gray
- David Beveridge, Senior Partner, Shearman & Sterling
- Sidley Austin
- William R. Dougherty, Chairman of Firm Executive Committee, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett
- Eric J. Friedman, Executive Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
- Frederick R. Nance, Global Managing Partner, Squire Patton Boggs
- Rachel Gonzalez, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary, Starbucks Coffee Company
- Sullivan & Cromwell
- Stephen E. Lewis, Chair, Troutman Pepper
- Daniel P. Moylan and Lawrence H. Gesner, Co-Managing Partners, Venable
- Christa D'Alimonte, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, ViacomCBS Inc.
- Scott N. Wulfe, Managing Partner, and T. Mark Kelly, Chairman, Vinson & Elkins
- Daniel A. Neff, Co-Chairman of Executive Committee, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
- Barry M. Wolf, Executive Partner and Chair of Firm's Management Committee, Weil Gotshal & Manges
- Matthew A. Feldman, Chairman, Willkie Farr & Gallagher
- Robert T. Novick, Co-Managing Partner, WilmerHale
- Thomas P. Fitzgerald, Chairman, Winston & Strawn